Make Him Over Hunt 4

Or…I’m So Friggin’ Grateful God Made Me a Woman.

The MHOH4 Hunt: We came. We laughed. We cried. We killed people.

Renee, Gabby and I decided it’d be a good idea to tackle the MHOH hunt together and then throw together some ensembles based on our own tastes. Now that I’m finally tackling this post, a full week after I started the hunt, I’m not convinced that the idea was all that great. 😐 This is a lot of damned work.

Anyway, you’ll notice some repeats here:

I’d like to thank the organizers for this hunt and the designers for coming out and participating. Although I’m gonna rant for a bit after the cut, I do appreciate the time and effort it takes to put this all together. *raising my flute of champagne to you all*

Read on for details and babbling. (I hope this “break” thing takes effect on the feeds. If not, my apologies.)

In the interest of saving myself a whole lotta time and effort, let me preface by saying all slurls are available right here.

Details are for left-to-right in each picture.

Picture #1

Man-Gabby:

Glasses: #25 – Kumaki / Eyes: #1 – MADesigns / Hair: #60 – Pocket Mirrors ¼ / Jacket and Tee: #2 – Alphamale / Jeans: #32 – Poised / Necklace: #137 – Jordan’s / Shape: #60 – Pocket Mirrors ¾

Man-Perion:

Shape: #165 R&B Shapes (used throughout) / Hair: #1 – MADesigns (edited) / Eyes: #60 – Pocket Mirrors / Glasses: #25 Kumaki / Watch: #88 – mischievous cat / Earring: #124 – Dionysia Designs / Sweater: #145 Ducknipple / Shorts: #77 – sLADE MEN / Shoes: #52 Duh!

Man-Renee:

Eyes: #1 – MADesigns  / Shape: #86 – Curvy Silhouettes Shapes / Skin: #108 – ::Ricochet:: / Hair: #1 – MADesigns  / Glasses: #25 – Kumaki / Hoodie: #5 – *FIR & MNA* / Pants: – #7 – Adjunct / Necklace: # 95 –  Kosh / Shoes:  – Kalnins Crossyard  (from the last MHO Hunt – No longer Available)

Picture #2

Man-Perion:

Hat: #51 – Intrigue Co. / Glasses: #41 – Santero / Necklace – #137 – Jordan’s / Top: #65 – JLZ Designs / Jeans: #130 – subVersion / Sneakers: #123 – TrE uNiQuE

Man-Gabby:

Glasses: #25 – Kumaki / Hair: #1 – MADesigns / Eyes: #98 – GENOME LAB / Piercing: #14 – NikitaFride / Jacket: #23 – SF Designs / Necklace: #132 – Zenith / Pants: #121 – Egoisme / Shirt: #130 – subVersion / Boots:  #69 BedlaM / Shape: #165 – R&B Shapes

Man-Renee:

Shape: #123 – TrE uNiQuE / Skin: #21 – Unique Megastore / Hair: #55 – Audacity / Eyes: #21 – Unique Megastore / Tank: #146 – Dark Water Designs / Outfit: # 54 – Ali Couture / Necklace: #95 – KOSH / Shoes: #56 – Duh!

Picture #3

Man-Perion:

Hair: – #60 Pocket Mirrors / Glasses: #9 – Gentleman / Necklace: #58 – Mustang Trading Post / Jacket/Top: #64 Upper Man / Jeans: #9 – Gentlemen / Shoes: #69 BedlaM

Man-Renee:

Eyes: #1 – MADesigns / Shape: #86 – Curvy Silhouettes Shapes / Hair: #1 – MADesigns / Skin: # 14 – [NikitaFride] / Jacket & Jeans: #2 – Alphamale / Sweater: #145 – Ducknipple / Glasses: #25 – Kumaki / Shoes: Kalnins Crossyard  (from the last MHO Hunt – No longer Available)

Man-Gabby:

Bracelet: #10 – +ROZOREGALIA+ / Earring: #124 – Dionysia Designs / Eyes: #1 – MADesigns / Hat: #131 – Soho / Jeans: #75 – Equilibrium / Vest: #72 – A:S:S / Necklace: #138 – GQ Fashions / Shoes: #18 – Avatar Bizarre / Tattoo: #40 – Nosotr@s / Bag: #144 – Little Britian Designs

Picture #4

Man-Perion:

Hair: #1 – MADesigns – (edited) / Glasses: #9 – Gentleman / Face Piercings: #14 – NikitaFride / Tattoo: #40 – NOSOTR@S / Necklace 1: #103 – [AB]MALE / Necklace 2: #138 – GQ Fashions / Bracelet: #58 – Mustang Trading Post / Tank: #34 – Eclectic Firefly / Jeans: #32 – Poised / Shoes: #18 – Avatar Bizarre

Man-Gabby:

Hair: #14 – Nikita Fride / Jacket: #110 – Klam Designs / Jeans: #104 – Before Sleep / Glasses: #75 – Gentleman / Necklace: #103 – [AB] Male / Piercing: #109 – [-iPoke-] / Shape: #60 – Pocket Mirrors ¾ / Shirt: #115 – Toritire (with underwear layer from different shirt) / Boots: #69 – BedlaM

Man-Renee:

Eyes: #98 – GENOME LAB / Shape: #165 – R&B Shapes / Skin: #71 – Prodigal / T-Shirt: #129 – EncixHomme / Jeans: #9 – Gentleman / Tattoo: #40 – NOSOTR@S / Prim Feet: #136 – Tangled / Bracelets: #10 / Necklace: #132 – Zenith

Poses for all provided by: #127 – NLimbo / #50 – BeScene / #60 – Pocket Mirrors / #117 – Hot Dolphin Love / #148 – KamreK Creations / #162 *EverGlow*

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Whew. With that out of the way…

It has been said that when it comes to quality in the SL fashion world, the majority caters to women. I have to agree… but I also have to say that it doesn’t have to be that way. I don’t claim to be a professional stylist (whateverthehell that is) in SL men’s fashion, but I can tell you I’ve been around the grid a lot more than your average avi.

Based on this hunt alone, here is *my opinion* of where men’s fashion is going wrong:

1) Layers. Hi. Layers. There’s more to a man’s shirt than the jacket layer. No, I’m not kidding. Sometimes men need to tuck a shirt or, god forbid, wear an actual JACKET over the shirt. Your tank top consisting of strictly a jacket layer doesn’t help.

Yes, I’m well aware that you can wear four jacket layers in the 2.0 viewer. Consider yourself aware that the 2.0 viewer bites my ass and I refuse to use it. I shouldn’t be penalized for that when every other store around you provides multiple layers of most every item they sell.

2) Bling. I received at least two prizes that blinged at me. Well, hello there circa-2006, how the hell are you? If I want bling I’ll visit the Freebie Dungeon and not your store. Kthen.

3) A total lack of prim cuffs. If you’re still “flaring” your jeans via edit appearance, you’re severely out of touch. Pants demand sculpted, prim cuffs. Women’s fashion designers across the board caught onto this better than two years ago… so do us all a favor and either catch onto this idea or close up shop.

4) Shapes *need* to be mod. Your shape could be absolutely perfect except for one thing: the nostril flare, the hand size, the neck width. Something. There’s always that one little thing I want to change. If your shape is no mod then there’s no joy for either of us because I won’t be receiving your almost-perfect shape and you won’t be receiving my lindens.

5) Pale yellow, baby blue and any shade of pink will never look good on any man, EVER. This point is not open for discussion.

As for the hunt itself… well, for 160+ stores, I have to admit that in spite of a few speed bumps, things surprisingly went rather smoothly. That won’t stop me from complaining, however:

1) Put your prize out on time. The fact that your great aunt Matilda on your ex-step-dad’s side of the family passed away is not my problem. You made a commitment and I’m calling you on it. If the hunt starts at midnight on Sunday, throwing your prize out at 3PM that next Wednesday causes a lot of problems for a lot of people, you inconsiderate prick. Unless you yourself are dead, there’s no reason good enough for any delay.

I mean, really. How long does it take to log in and throw an item on the floor? Fifteen seconds? Yeah. No reason good enough for any delay with this. Except, as stated, your own death. Your own death I’ll accept. If I have proof of it in writing.

2) Decoys. Yeah. Charming. About as charming as two rats fucking. One or two decoys in your store is bordering on the annoying. Three or more decoys in your store makes you a grade-A douchebag. What’s the point of this anyway? To keep people in your store longer?

Your creations should be commanding the attention of hunters, not your misnamed crown molding. But here’s a fun fact: the only person you’re hurting is you. I know I’m not alone here when I say your store has been noted as a place I will not be returning to. Remember, I have something you want: the almighty Linden. You don’t have anything I can’t buy elsewhere. So knock it off. It’s not cute.

3) Try to remove the prize from LAST YEAR’S hunt from your store before putting out the new one, mmkay? I know it’s asking a lot, but this bit of consideration will help out a bunch of people. Thx.

4) Try to remember that people cannot buy your prize if you don’t set it for sale. It’s true! Honest!

5) Hey, here’s another idea! How about checking that landmark to the next store before you put it in your folder? I received no less than six inaccurate or dead landmarks. Of course, the store owner who provides it should probably double check it to ensure its accuracy since it is, after all, their own store, but you, as the giver-of-the-folder, should trust NO ONE. Check it yourself. If it doesn’t bring you where you need to be, inquire.

This very simple act takes all of three seconds and saves a whole bunch of people a whole hell of a lot of unnecessary hassle. And I know you have at least three seconds to kill because you’ve just spent the last two minutes reading my drivel.

I think that’s about it.

Before you start typing your little fingers off in the comment field below to give me shit for complaining about free stuff, allow me to remind you that this is MY blog post. MY opinion. If you disagree, write your own damned blog post.

Ciao!

  1. Gabby McCullough
    September 26, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    /me applauds wildly

    I look HOT!!! And not gay at all!! Right?? *hrmphs*

    I agree with you wholeheartedly, especially with the decoy thing. The store owners do themselves no favors by pissing off potential customers. They seem to forget the length of this hunt, the frustration that is already well in hand by the time people get to their stores and the fact that, with lag, it can take full minutes for the prize to even rez. No wonder so many people give up and don’t finish.

    This should be an opportunity for people to discover new stores and new designers…not for them to walk away with nothing to show for it, except a bad taste in their mouth about a given store.

    I will say that we all laughed harder than we ever have before in SL, trying on the loot in our male shapes, pointing and laughing at each other’s coin purses. And dancing. What? That’s a normal night in SL, right?

  2. Garrett Larkham
    September 26, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    Well put, Perion. Lack of common sense (ONE fricken layer??) only means the vendor doesn’t care and therefore doesn’t deserve a return visit.
    Thankfully, we have pros like swaffette Firefly (SF Designs) & beanster Potato (Ducknipple), whose products are always worth the trip, hunt or no.
    BTW, my female alt wants you guys to call her.

  3. September 26, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    I have no words…

  4. Gabby McCullough
    September 26, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    *giggles like a schoolgirl*

  5. Maeven Anthony
    September 26, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    I agree about the prim pant cuffs. I tried the hunt, and am now walking thru sl as a guy!

  6. Renee Harvy
    September 26, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    Thank you Perion, for doing all the heavy lifting. You made magic out of some pretty scary get ups! Kudos on your mad photo skillz and on your rant. I agree about everything except the late gifts, having missed a deadline or two myself :p

  7. September 26, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    Oh Man!!! you wrote the exact same thing i was too chicken to write!!! Thanks! – I may even know the shops you are talking about. I spoke directly to one such owner in the MHOH Chat – and they were actually gloating about it and quibbling as to what constituted a “decoy” and a fair hunt! Sheesh! Lol! I really appreciate you outing these factors in hunts! Thanks, Leonie Szczepanski

  8. Maeven Anthony
    September 26, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    i also wish there was better hair for my guy. what hair i found was totally goofy.

  9. Malin
    September 27, 2010 at 1:45 am

    Agreed.

  10. Anony Mousey
    September 27, 2010 at 2:20 am

    here’s another thought: If I have to spend 45 minutes in a high-quality store searching for an item that has been retextured, shrunk to to size of a Mentos, then embedded half into a wall, I hope the reward is actually something worth the effort. Naming no names.

  11. Peep
    September 27, 2010 at 11:22 am

    OMG, I’d totally do those guys!

    /me wipes drool from my chin 😀

    +25842048 on the hunt rant! It’s hard enough to get guys to shop, let alone spend ages trying to find that hunt item. No wonder so many guys in SL walk around looking like rejects from the Salvation Army. Guys are used to hunting with guns and bows & arrows. Give them a chance to find your shit and if they’re happy with it, they’ll probably go back. That’s easier than using search or reading blogs *shakes head*

  12. September 27, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    Peep – you hit the so called nail! yay! you too Maeven!

    Perion: hope you don’t mind if i decide to link to this post! ty, Leonie

  13. Perion Leominster
    September 27, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    Have at it, Leonie! 🙂

    Thank you everyone for chiming in! I’m loving the comments. ❤

  14. September 27, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    those are some pretty hot guys!! and i agree completely with every single thing you said! *joins in the wild applause*

  15. Arialle Dufaux
    September 27, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    Totally agree with you and all the very good points you’ve made!!!

  16. September 27, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    It’s posted along with some of my own comments! Lol! Thanks again for the inspiration and courage – course no one reads my blog so I’m prolly paranoid over nothing! LS

    http://lotuslandnotesv2.blogspot.com/2010/09/tiny-voodoo-avatar.html

  17. Abra Zelin
    September 27, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    If I may add one…. If the store is very laggy, not only will I not be hunting there, but I also will not be shopping there. I do appreciate the effort of preparing the hunt and following through with nice prizes, etc. However, it’s a total non-starter if I can’t move and can’t zoom and my computer crashes (due to lag).

  18. September 28, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    hi Perion, no hate comments? 😉

    Anyway, there’s one bad habit you didn’t mention which is: giving the same prize as in some former hunt or giving as hunt prize an item which used to be a freebie for months in your store.

    I can only say: Recycling gifts is cheating on the hunters, no “but there are always new players doing a hunt” is acceptable as excuse. You steal people’s time, plain and simple!

  19. Them3OtherGuys
    September 28, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    First, let me say that I agree with all the points of your rant. But I would also like to say that I have avidly been doing hunts for over a year now, scouring them for the rare gems of items us guys can use (even the “just for women” hunts sneak in a few), and in the sense of fairness, have to say in all honesty: Points 1, 2 and 4 apply just as much to women’s fashion as it does to men’s (that’s a very nice dress… why is it only a shirt layer?) and ALL the points on hunt annoyances apply to EVERY. SINGLE. HUNT. Period. Some are worse offenders than others. Some are even repeat offenders (how do you even find TIME to rename half the objects in your 1000+ prim store with the hunt name(s)? You know who you are). I could probably rant on about this, and in fact I applaud you for having the guts to come out and say all the things I’ve been thinking about hunts over the past year. But I won’t because you did so very succinctly. So I will leave you with this: all hunts are created equal. Some are just more equal than others.

  20. Bobby Raymation
    September 28, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    Wow, finally someone had the guts to say some of the things I’ve been wanting to say. I don’t generally do hunts. I don’t like shopping either, but hunts I do look at what they have, and do occasionally buy. If it takes me longer then 20 minutes, I’m outa there. I have warm fuzzy feelings for merchants who don’t try to make the item so hard to find that you spend HOURS(yes, I did that a few times!) in their shop. And if I need that item for the next LM,then I’m done with the hunt. Period. Also if the treasures are worthless, low quality and generally stuff you can find at freebie sims…. I won’t spend lindens there later. Your other merchandise is probably of poor quality also I feel. I do like V2 for the multiple layers, I was finally able to find freckles to wear with my skin of choice!…………Oh one more thing, I hope it’s ok to plug a group on this blog. I’m in the “free finds for guys” group. Great items, good hunters post the freebies. Most of which are really good!(no, I’m not an admin or moderator, just a member)

  21. Perion Leominster
    September 28, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    Whoa. I never thought my little post would garner so much attention! LOL

    Leonie – thanks for the referral! 🙂

    Abra – I understand about the lag. It won’t stop me from going to a store, especially during a sale, but I know it tends to make people nauseous. I’m too stubborn to get nauseous. But it’s a part of SL and I deal.

    Yves – I’m surprised I have no hate comments yet either. Hmmm. I must be doing something wrong. I’ll try harder next time. 😉

    As for giving the same prize, well, I haven’t done many hunts and only recently have I developed an interest in them. I’m certain your gripe will come to my attention and that’ll be in my future blog post. Maybe.

    Them3 – I can assume these same gripes apply to all hunts, but I have seen the complaint several times that men’s quality is so difficult to find in SL, so I singled this one out. Which is why a part of me was expecting a witch hunt. 😐

    Bobby – Yes, yes and yes! I agree on all counts! We have *always* said that if your hunt item is good quality, we’ll be back to your store to shop. Well, we said this to each other. Not on this blog. I don’t think.

    And we here at SATC do not moderate, outside of approving comments before they are posted. Once in a while, a spam gets through so we had to put the kibosh on that. Otherwise, plug away! That is an excellent group!

    To everyone who has taken the time to chime in: thank you!! ❤

  22. Abra Zelin
    September 29, 2010 at 2:36 am

    Make Him Over 3 was my first hunt and I had a blast (apart from the laggy stores, lol). I really was spoiled because as far as hunts go, I think MHO is one of the best. After a trying couple other hunts that were really disastrous, I decided to just keep watch on my favorite stores for upcoming hunts. And if I had a relatively good experience with a hunt such as MHO, I will do it again (an am, with MHOH4). Heck, there were over 160 stops this time, so even if you only like 5% of the items, that would be 8 worthy gems.

    The only other gripe I feel I can add right now is this…when a hunter asks for help and I give it, it sure would be nice if they said “Thanks! I got it!” Not all hunters have common courtesy.

  23. ogie Darkfold
    September 30, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    LMAO I love it! (#2 on decoys) I stopped the twisted hunt before stop 50 because of all the damed decoys. The idea that I have no RL other than to look at & click on, a sea of Decoys is insulting. One hour of my time is worth 20 USD, not to be spent in a store clicking away on prims (we having fun yet?.. NOT!). Anything over 2 decoys is just a mean spirit & I jet from that store, never to return.

    Thank you for saying that about decoys. 🙂

  24. Uma Dragovar
    September 30, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    I agree with you 200 percent however, my bf is still stuck in the stoneage sl wise and refused to try to edit the prim cuffs on a pair of pants. For these guys please offer a set of cuffs with resize scripts? And yeah, layers, maybe slip a notecard in there too explaining what the layers do and are for?

  25. leonieszczepanski
    October 8, 2010 at 4:17 am

    You’re welcome Perion! Adore your blog and have it linked on mine! Yay! LS

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

