Home > Fashion > Hunts!

Hunts!

I spent the last day or so doing the Shoe and Accessory Hunt and the Heat Wave Hunt.   There are a lot of nice things in both these hunts and I have picked a few to feature here.  I can’t blog everything in the hunts, that isn’t what I do.  erm.  More on that later.  For now, here is some of what I found.

.


(click for larger)

~This wonderful hoodie is from Ducknipple for the Heat Wave Hunt.  Wonderful textures and the hood sculpt is great!   See details for the rest of the hunt items in this photo. 
 
Jacket:  Ducknipple Heat Wave Hunt Cherie Hoodie  Blue  Free 
Bag:  KOSH Shoe and Accessory Hunt Asphyxia Shoulderbag Rainy Night  Free 
Necklace:  *ICED* Heat Wave Hunt Starfish Necklace Free 
Hair:  IrEn Heat Wave Hunt Nora (hair is texture change)  Free 
Belt:  *BLIZTED* Shoe and Accessory Hunt Classic Belt Old Leather Brown  Free
Boots:  Reek Shoe and Accessory Hunt Autumn Boots Navy  Free 
Jeans:  Surf Couture Belmar Skinny Jeans Dark Blue  (review copy) 
Skin:  Redgrave Leona Natural 

**Edit again!  Apparently, Reek renamed his sim so the URL from when I was there wasn’t working.  It is corrected now.

*EDIT!! The Redgrave skin is not free!  That “free” came from a line above when I copy/pasted and I didn’t catch it.  Sorry!!   Sometimes the formatting goes wonky.  :-/

.

 


(click for larger)

~I love this top from WWI for the Heat Wave Hunt.  It comes with an optional lace bra and really nice scuplted sleeves. 
~The glasses from Kumaki are really cool.  They come with several different scenes printed on the lens and can be opaque or transparent.  These will be great for photos in different outdoor locations. 
~The Indyra Originals bag is fantastically textured and comes in two sizes.
~see details for other hunt items.
~This hair is a new release from Magika which I think is adorable.  It has a texture change band and a really cute curly offset bun.

Top:  Worldwide Industries Heat Wave Hunt Too Tight Tan Floral  Free 
Necklace:  Necklace:  *ICED* Heat Wave Hunt Starfish Necklace  Free  
Shoes:  Heart & Sole Heat Wave Hunt River Pink  Free
Mouth thing:  Lacie Cakes Heat Wave Hunt Tropical Umbrella NomNom Free
Glasses:  Kumaki Glasses Shoe & Accessory Hunt GoodWorld 1.00  Free  
Bag:  Indyra Originals Shoe & Accessory Hunt The Ireben Carry-all  Free 
Skirt:  Tuli Worn Denim Mini Skirt Dirty Gray 
Hair:  Magika Susan Red D  (new release) (review copy)
Skin:  Belleza Jesse Sunkiss 9 (cleavage)  

.

 


(click for larger)

~These cute shoes are by Kalnins for the Shoe and Accessory Hunt.  They come in both male and female sizes and are texture change to 11 different textures. 
~The belt is by Ducknipple for the Shoe and Accessory Hunt…they are giving such great prizes!!
~The hoorenbeek glasses can attach at your hip, chest or face.  That’s kinda fun. 

Scarf:  [JP]:dsg. Shoe and Accessory Hunt Scarf (color change)  Free 
Shoes:  Kalnins Shoe and Accessory Hunt SlipOns  Free 
Belt:  Ducknipple Shoe and Accessory Hunt Viking Belt Brown  Free 
Glasses:  Hoorenbeek  Shoe and Accessory Hunt Risky Glasses (chest attach)  Free 
Mouth Piercing:  [skream!] Shoe and Accessory Hunt  “confessions” piercing  Free 
Top:  Surf Couture Rendezvous Printed V Neck Moss (new release, review)
Jeans:  [Decoy] Dana 76 Jeans Dark  50L Sale 
Hair:  Magika Susan Red D  (new release) (review copy)

.


(click for larger)

~And now I need to take some time to relax after all that work!  😛 
This bathtub is the Heat Wave prize from Cheeky Pea and comes with both single and couple poses!  Yes, I am wearing pasties…wearing clothes seemed wrong, but we couldn’t have full on nip! 

Bath:  Cheeky Pea Heat Wave Hunt Slipper Bath Free 
Hair:  Magika Susan Black A

Poses:  LAP and Glitterati

I am sure I will use many more of the prizes from these hunts in future posts.  There has been some snark lately where people say that if you don’t show every item from a hunt that you are somehow taking the “easy” way out.  I would disagree with that as putting together outfits from the hunt items, finding locations, poses, good lighting and trying to show the items well, is a long and laborious project.  I give mad props to those that take a photo of every item, but we can’t and shouldn’t all be blogging the same way…that would be no fun at all.  I would suggest that we all blog what we like, how we like and not worry so much about how other people are blogging.  Diversity is what makes SL interesting, isn’t it?

  1. January 16, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    No one has the right to criticize blogging style and they lose credibility if they do so. A blog is for the writer; readers follow if they wish, but they do not drive the ship.

    “If you allow yourself to begin posting entries based on what you think someone wants you to write, you are missing the point of having a weblog.”

    “There are half a million weblogs; yours will be compelling only to the extent that it reflects your unique way of looking at the world. Your perspective is the point. It’s the only reason to read a weblog at all. Do not be afraid to speak your mind.” — Rebecca Blood, author of The Weblog Handbook

    Your posts are always interesting, even though primarily female clothing oriented, because they are consistently informative and always beautifully illustrated.

  2. Marianne
    January 16, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    Don’t worry about what some ppl say. I couldn’t agree more, if all blogged the same way, wouldn’t be any fun at all.
    I read this blog because the freebies shown here are worth going for. I can’t spend so much time hunting, I have to be picky. And your selection match well with my taste. I also like the not-free stuff and the sales covered here. You keep on doing your thing! 🙂
    Pssst the first pic…. says Free skin from Redgrave? Surely that’s a typo?

  3. January 16, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    This post is fabulous, Gabby! Thank you for your hard work on it. I’m such a fan!

    ❤ Em

  4. Gabby McCullough
    January 16, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    Thanks for commenting, Cal, Marianne and Emerald! ❤ I appreciate you all taking the time to do so!
    And thank you, Marianne for catching that typo! *Eeeps!* That was clearly a bad copy/paste or something. Sometimes the formatting gets messed up and things end up in places they shouldn't! Gosh…I hope people aren’t wandering around Redgrave looking for a free skin. *face palms*

  5. January 16, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    LOL my alt was looking 🙂

    And I agree with Callburn, your photos are always great

  6. January 16, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    and I would not be reading this if you blogged every single item in the hunt. I like that you highlight the best of the hunts.

  7. Gabby McCullough
    January 16, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    Thanks, GM! 😀 I really appreciate you all taking the time to comment. ❤

  8. January 17, 2010 at 5:43 am

    Hi Gabby,
    I am sure you did use some of the blogs thad post almost or every item of a hunt 😉 giving that / those blogger credit for his or her hard work would be apropriate too.
    Just a hince 😉

  9. January 17, 2010 at 7:32 am

    I agree with the others – I use the same premise when I’m blogging. If I find something in a hunt or a gift/freebie or even a full price item *shock* that I like I’ll blog it. If it don’t I won’t. Great if other people take the time to read it – if they don’t, well I had fun pulling it all together. Your blog is always really interesting and has great photos – thanks to you & your fellow posters for taking the time to share it all with us.

  10. Gabby McCullough
    January 17, 2010 at 8:33 am

    Dudda, if you read my former post, https://slexandthecity.wordpress.com/2010/01/08/decoy-sale-salire-and-other-freebie-and-cheapies/ you will see that I addressed that issue with the ONE time I did not credit someone because I forgot where I saw the item, which was on multiple blogs, and didn’t have time to sift through all the blogs to find it again. That person IMd me in world calling me “stupid” and “sad”.

    In my opinion, she needs to realize that there are a ton of freebie blogs and she doesn’t have “dibs” on any of the hunt items if she happens to blog them first. I do my best to give credit, but if I see something on multiple blogs, I am not going to list every blog. That is stupid. Do other blogs list every other blog when they blog a full price item? No? Then why the freebie blog witch hunt? I find it ironic that all the backlash is coming from the freebie bloggers. As if the freebie hunters didn’t have a bad enough reputation…

    Regardless, that is not what this post is about, Dudda. This post is about a different blogger who claims that if you only blog a couple items from a hunt that it is “easy”. I take issue with it being called “easy” at all.
    Thanks for reading. 🙂

    And thank you, Sorcha! <3!!

  11. Maretch
    January 17, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    I 100% agree with you Gabby. I’m a blogger too and I know how it feels. For example now I haven’t blogged for 2 weeks because I’m stuck in exams IRL. And if I had the time to blog and just blogged a few items from some hunts I would do that and getting IMs from people or comment or whatever that I don’t blog all the items, I’d simply say “Fuck off” n i’ll be blogging what I like from the hunt. And besides I wont flood the fashion feeds with every part I make from the hunt 😛
    And they don’t like it? Don’t like the way I do it? Or even don’t like my blog? No one told them to read my blog then, they can fook off.

    So baah to those people that called you stupid.. It happened to me MANY times before too. And I learned how to be rude 😛

    Keep in mind we all love your blog! And big thanks to all of you girls.

    P.S: about that girl you talked about in the Decoy sale post.. screw her.. I’m sure I’ll never check her blog at all. And don’t say blogging isn’t fun anymore! Don’t let assholes like these ruin your blogging fun! <333333333

    Much love gabby-pooo! ❤

  12. Perion Leominster
    January 17, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    Well, I know you’re all just waiting for me to chime in with my opinion, so here goes.

    1) I think it’s ridiculous that Gabby even had to blog about this nonsense. Don’t people have better things to do than to critisize the style of a VIRTUAL FASHION blogger? If not, I want your life. Please.

    2) It stands to reason that not every offering in every hunt is going to be of Gabby’s taste so why would she endorse those items by including them in a blog post? I certainly don’t blog stuff I don’t like. If you feel differently that’s fine, but that DOESN’T MAKE HER WRONG.

    3) If I’m expected to link every single item I blog back to which blog I saw it on, I’m fucked six ways to Sunday on Truth’s releases alone. SL Fashion is vast yet limited. NO ONE is going to be original unless you design the stuff yourself. Period.

    Game. Set. Match. Are we done here?

  13. January 17, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    Hi Gabby,

    thank you for your answear 🙂 I agree with you completely on that matter and since people are saying they would like to see more of the hunt items they just haven´t found the blogs that show them all, thats why a link would be helpfull ;-). But maybe you were just as fast and did the whole hunt and picked out the beans you´re showing 😉
    thx for answering
    Dudda

  14. Gabby McCullough
    January 17, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    Hmm. If you are implying that I didn’t do the hunts I am showing here, Dudda, you would be wrong. You think there is only one blogger doing these hunts?? Renee and I have both completed nearly the entire SAH Hunt and I did almost the entire Heat Wave hunt. It is laughable to me what you are implying. And I am not going to be bullied into blogrolling. If you think I would recommend the blog of the person who called me “sad” and “stupid”, well…that floors me. Hers was one of maybe 40 blogs I would look at occasionally, but believe me, I have no interest in looking at her blog anymore.

    And regardless of what you are implying, I don’t have anything to prove. If you don’t like this blog, please stop coming here. If people want to find other blogs, they will find them regardless of whether I included a link on the post that started this controversy. I stated in that original post that I hadn’t had time to do that hunt and I had seen that dress on a couple other blogs. I am not going to continue to restate this, as it would appear that you aren’t listening.

    I think what you and that other blogger are really losing sight of is that we blog to help the designers. Not for our own personal gain. I didn’t make any of these items, nor did you. I only come here to try to show things that *I* like and in the best possible light, photographing them to the best of my ability.

    I am not going to continue to argue with the bunch of you. Please stop reading this blog if my method of blogging is so distressing to you.

  15. Renee Harvy
    January 17, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    What Perion said :p

    Gabby works very hard on these posts, and she and I both spend an inordinate amount of our “free” SL time doing hunts. We both like them, and I personally am OCD about always finishing them (and drag Gabby right along with). It’s absolutely true that I’m rarely the first one to blog hunt items, becuase I’m usually too bent on finishing the hunt to go home and unpack and blog. That doesn’t mean I’ve copied someone else’s blog post, or cherry picked the best offerings from another blog.

    I really think it’s ridiculous that a few bloggers feel the need to claim they were “first” or “best” or were stolen from, at the expense of other bloggers. We all get the same freebie announcements, we all belong to the same freebie groups, we all get the same hunt notices, we all do the same hunts.

  16. January 18, 2010 at 6:55 am

    Gabby you totally misunderstood me – I simply said if people are nagging not to see all the things then you could add the blogs that do – and I never doubted you doing the hunts – I dont understand why you get so upset – I didnt acuse you of anything. And i don´t know who called you stupid or sad or anything of that problem you had.
    Sorry for touching a nerve there. All bloggers work hard on their posts and the blog becomes our baby. That doesn´t mean we have to be in kindergarden. If I read a blog often I add it to my blogroll so that my readers can check out that persons blog too. Cause we bloggers should stand together. I ran into your blog over iheartsl – that forum gives you the opportunity to see many blog entries at the same time and so discover new blogs that might be interesting to add to your blogroll.
    Happy Hunting and I wasn´t being destressed at all. This post was the first post I read from you – I liked the pictures too and was thinking of adding you to my blog roll – but if you have a problem with me reading your posts – I wont read it anymore.

  17. Gabby McCullough
    January 18, 2010 at 8:00 am

    I suspect you are perfectly aware of the person who called me “sad” and “stupid” since you are all over the comment section of her blog. 🙂

    For example:

    dudda: schnappi hast du ein comment bei dieser bloggerin da gelassen?

    Schnaeppchen Wahrhaftig: ich hab ihr eine IM geschickt, aber sie hat mich anscheinden nicht verstanden, für wie blöd hält dich mich???

    Also, if you look at your blog you are linking back to this persons blog and the other blog in question** over and over, and 2 of the 5 blogs on your blogroll are these blogs. I think you are aware of the situation. 🙂
    **http://annazwiers.blogspot.com/2010/01/huntresses.html

    I totally agree bloggers should stand together and support each other. But if a blogger is rude to me, calls me names and takes the time to write a whole blog post complaining about me….well, see, that doesn’t make me want to blogroll her. I am sure you understand. 🙂

    And if one of these bloggers removes a comment I made on her blog about a hunt that I did, then removes me from HER blogroll…well, I am not going to jump on blogrolling her either. 🙂

    Our blogroll is up to us and it is a group effort and a group decision. It is not possible to blogroll every blog and we add the ones we choose to. Our blogroll is quite comprehensive and I don’t feel it needs to be added to at this time.

  18. Hallie Galli
    January 18, 2010 at 10:56 am

    People need to realize they will never be the first to blog something. I bank on the fact that the feeds are somewhat saturated with an item to remind me. I give Gabby (and Renee) a lot of credit for going through those hunts and picking out what they find is quality. No way in hell I’m going to do an entire hunt. The thought of a blog featuring every single item from a hunt, makes my head hurt.

    The beauty about having your own blog is being able to take suggestions and ignore them. Perhaps people should take all the energy they are putting towards not being linked back to a blog and focus on all the great items they found. I look for inspiration in other blogs…not to see how many hits I’m getting or if someone blogged something before me.

  19. January 18, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    Gabby I knew about a problem she had but she didn´t call names. I honestly ran into this perticular blogpost over ihearts. I agree calling names is playing kindergarden and the best policy is being polite and respect eachother. My chatbox on my blog is open for everyone – my blog comments have to be approved first though, but I dont cencor my comments, it´s a free world where everyone are entitled to say their opinion – maybe I´m just lucky that my readers are more quiet than yours 😉
    Well anyway – we shouldn´t be waisting our time pointing back and forth and language is a barrier too. Lets go back to usefuller things 🙂
    What a big gap to the original answear to your blog question 😉
    All the best – lets get those blogging pencils rolling 😉
    this will be my last comment 😉
    Dudda

  20. Gabby McCullough
    January 18, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    Dudda, she did call names. I can’t show it here, as that would be against the SL TOS, but I assure you her words were “stupid” and “sad”. I replied to her that I didn’t understand what she was referring to, because at that point, I honestly had no idea. Then I saw her blog post about me.

    If you go back through the history of this blog, you will see that we have always tried to be respectful and polite. This is actually the first time drama has found it’s way to the blog. I would be quite happy if drama stayed away from now on.

    Good luck with your blogging, and best wishes. 🙂

  21. January 18, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    OMG you are right – she did say your name. That´s bad – at least she could have linked you back LOL.
    I whish you too a drama free blog time and best wishes 😀 Dudda
    (definately the last post ;-))

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

